Q. How do I request a site merge?

Answer

Merging sites is a way of joining two NILE sites together in such a way that one site (the master site) becomes the site which students will access, and the other site (the child site) is effectively unused. However, and this is the key part, the students who are enrolled on the child site will only ‘see,’ or access the master site.

Thus the tutor makes changes, uploads documents, sets assignments etc in the master site and both cohorts of students can access it.

This is useful for tutors as where two separate cohorts of students can successfully work on one site, there is no need to populate and maintain two separate sites.

 

When to request a site merge?

Sites can be merged when there is no need to distinguish between the two (or more) cohorts.

However, where the cohorts have to do different tasks and assignments, with different submission dates etc, you must keep the two sites separate.

 

Merging a site

This is something that you need to ask the Student Records team to carry out for you.

1. Email your student record team* and ask for your sites to be merged.
2. Make it very clear exactly which site is to be the master site and which site is the child.
3. Use of the full trinity code is essential to ensure that the right variations of the module are merged (e.g. ACC1001-STD-1718)

*Student Records Teams

Education, Humanities, Health & Sociology:
Email: Studentrecordsehhs@northampton.ac.uk

Business & Law, Arts, Science & Technology:
Email: studentrecordsblast@northampton.ac.uk

EWO & Distance Learning Courses:
Email: ewodlrecords@northampton.ac.uk

 

“I have seen ‘mergeinstructor’ enrolled on some of my modules. What does this mean?”

All site merges are recorded on a spreadsheet managed by the Learning Technology team. Part of the process of merging sites is to enrol mergeinstructor onto the child site so that it is clear that the site is linked to a master site. This is because the child site itself will not have any relevant or up-to-date information in it and so someone who was unaware that the site was merged might think it was unused and either needing to be deleted or that the member of staff responsible for that site hadn’t been using it.

 

Indications that a site forms part of a merge

1. Anyone accessing the child site will see an orange banner at the top of the NILE homepage indicating that the site is a child and advising any changes be made in the master site. Clicking on the master site link (highlighted) will take you straight into that site.

merge1

2. The Grade Centre > Full Grade Centre also indicates students who are enrolled on the child site:

merge2

As this image clearly shows, those students who are part of the child site cohort have this information recorded in the Grade Centre Child Site ID column.

Demerging two sites This is something that should only be done if you are 100% certain that no students from the child site have submitted work to the master site. If they have, and the sites are separated, any work that the students have submitted to the master site will be lost.

Please see the separate guide on de-merging sites if you are considering this action.

 

Topics

  • Last Updated Nov 03, 2017
  • Views 3
  • Answered By Learning Technologists

FAQ Actions

Was this helpful? 0   0

Contact Us